Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.



Update on All Day School Zones

Safety School Traffic Safety

Currently, Strathcona County follows the provincial standard for school zone effective times which are:
•    8:00 – 9:30 am
•    11:30 am – 1:30 pm
•    3:00 – 4:30 pm

Did you know …

•    that most schools have early dismissal the first Wednesday of the month and students are dismissed before 3:00 pm and therefore vehicles have no obligation to drive 30 km/h during that time?  
•    that some schools start before 8:00 am every day or dismiss before 3:00 pm every day and therefore vehicles have no obligation to drive 30 km/h at those times?
•    that many schools have before or after school activities where students are arriving before 8:00 am or leaving after 4:30 pm and vehicles have no obligation to drive 30 km/h?
•    Edmonton, St. Albert, Fort Saskatchewan and Beaumont have moved to all day school zones.

We know that many studies show speed as the number one risk factor for pedestrian injury and that impacts above 30 km/h increase the likelihood of severe injury or death.
As such, the Strathcona County School Traffic Safety Partnership supports the implementation of all day school zones in our community. Specifically, we recommend a bylaw where speeds in all school zones are limited to 30 km/h from 7:30 am – 4:30 pm.